Nice try, Lauren Conrad…

Despite that I am blushing and giggling over a photo of a handsome man on a popular television show like a fourteen-year-old at the moment, I am actually not a teenager. Haven’t been for a few years now.

Which is why I didn’t finish L.A. Candy. I could have finished it–it’s not as if Conrad wrote the most challenging novel. But from the first page, I knew I wasn’t going to take much of it. (It opens with a dream sequence. I’ll leave it at that.)  The writing was very basic, and the plot is pretty much lifted from the first and second season of The Hills, with new names and places. This is rather bad–this really dates the book, and it wasn’t done intentionally (see: Megan McCafferty’s Jessica Darling series.) This makes me sad. Books written for teenagers often have a bad reputation as being too condescending or too sexy or too vapid, the latter of which fits L.A. Candy. But, as I said before, I’m not the intended audience. If I were fourteen, I would’ve thought Conrad was like, such a great author, like, why are people giving her shit? OMG!

So, sorry for such a short review, but next week, I’ll have more. I don’t know what will go up next week…I’m torn between RuPaul’s Lettin’ It All Hang Out, Wendy Williams’ The Wendy Williams Experience and Paul Feig’s Kick Me: Adventures in Adolesence and Superstud: Or How I Became a 24-Year-Old Virgin. I love all three of these people like no other. They’ll all be on the site at some point, but I’m still having a hard time choosing. (Also, I know Feig isn’t a celebrity in the traditional sense. Some of you may never have heard of him! However,  he’s a celebrity to me, as he created one of my favorite shows, the very short-lived Freaks and Geeks that aired on NBC during the 1999-2000 season. People in my age group may also remember him as Mr. Pool during the first season of Sabrina, The Teenage Witch.)

Have you read L.A. Candy? What are your thoughts? Feel free to share in the comments section!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

